My Build - Luego Velocity

Viento, Velocity & Locost

Moderator: BradW

My Build - Luego Velocity

Postby Phil Bradley on Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:12 pm

Hi All
Usual first liner - \"Finally I have done it.\"
For me it is \"finally\", I have been doing Internet research on and off for about 4 years. Still wanting to buy another MX bike, my wife - bless her soul, put her foot down and said \"NO MORE BIKES\", so we compromised on the car...YEHAA!!!
What I know about the internals of a car is quite frightening, big thanks to Brad and Andre for the pointers to date.
I received my chassis on Saturday 1st July - my little girls third birthday, so I now have a good benchmark for build times.
The quality of the chassis is outstanding. My father-in-law was impressed for heavens sake and he’s a German design engineer. Well done Brad, it takes a lot to impress ze Germans.

Car specs (as of now, may change)
Chassis – Locost
Body – Luego Velocity
Colour – Italian Red with Carbon Fibre effect nose and front wings
Motor – Nissan SR20DET 2.0l Turbo charged - Now a Toyota 20V Blacktop
Gearbox – Nissan 200SX 5speed - Now a Toyota T-50
Diff – Ford Sierra 4.11 IRS (I did contemplate the Subaru at one stage – maybe a mod that I’ll do when I have the skill)
Internals – Haven’t decided yet. I’ll need help in this department.
Lights – Still trying to source good-looking ones, I may have to import.
Wheels – 15” Alloys. I haven’t seen any I like yet. I want them to be open so the brakes are clearly visible.

What I have done to date:
Cleaned the chassis a few times
Bought the nuts and bolts from JKM in Randburg – Hope they are the correct ones.

What I’m waiting for:
The Diff and suspension bits and bobs to have them blasted and powder coated.

This is going to be great fun. I look forward to meeting you all at the various track days and race meetings. Please feel free at any time to throw comments, suggestions and anything of interest at me.

Regards,
Phil
:P