Vapour Tachometer - installation

Wiring, instruments, switchgear etc

Moderator: BradW

Vapour Tachometer - installation

Postby matteox on Sun Mar 06, 2011 6:11 pm

Hi guys

I have a Vapour digital dash fitted in my seven , but having problems with setup ..............pls help where is best for speed pick up and RPM pick up .........im not good with electrics

I am running a 2Ov Toyota with dictator

Matt
Locost
Toyota 20v with Dictator
User avatar
matteox
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 4:41 pm
Location: Cape Town

Re: Vapour Tachometer - installation

Postby ross on Mon Mar 07, 2011 9:10 am

I used the inboard bolt heads on the Lobros joint at the diff for my speedo pick up.
Locost chassis with Toyota 20 valve blacktop and T50 box.
User avatar
ross
 
Posts: 1076
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 12:33 pm
Location: centurion

Re: Vapour Tachometer - installation

Postby matteox on Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:29 am

thanks for that

where did you put RPM wire ? on the coil ? is it reading right ?
Locost
Toyota 20v with Dictator
User avatar
matteox
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 4:41 pm
Location: Cape Town

Re: Vapour Tachometer - installation

Postby ross on Mon Mar 07, 2011 11:27 am

Not sure where my system picks up the rpm, but I think it's from the mnagement system, Andre' would know. But if it's like a standard rev counter then you should be able to use the connection on the dizzy, I think.
Locost chassis with Toyota 20 valve blacktop and T50 box.
User avatar
ross
 
Posts: 1076
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 12:33 pm
Location: centurion

Re: Vapour Tachometer - installation

Postby andredp on Mon Mar 07, 2011 11:58 am

No the Vapor you'll have to connect to coil negative, but IIRC the manual states there are different ways of connecting??
Andre'
Racing: Locost Racer - Rocam with plastic intake manifold ;)
Upgrading: Luego Locost SA - ex 4AGE 20V - soon to be x2 on KWs
New projects: More Locost Formula racers
User avatar
andredp
 
Posts: 1651
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 2:16 pm
Location: Centurion, Gauteng

Re: Vapour Tachometer - installation

Postby matteox on Tue Mar 08, 2011 2:48 pm

thanks Andre

Did it read accurately , seems to jump around quite a bit ?

rgds
Matt
Locost
Toyota 20v with Dictator
User avatar
matteox
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 4:41 pm
Location: Cape Town

Re: Vapour Tachometer - installation

Postby andredp on Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:14 pm

Some yes, some no :) More yes then no, but if you have troubles try and get the supplier to try another unit on your car.
Andre'
Racing: Locost Racer - Rocam with plastic intake manifold ;)
Upgrading: Luego Locost SA - ex 4AGE 20V - soon to be x2 on KWs
New projects: More Locost Formula racers
User avatar
andredp
 
Posts: 1651
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 2:16 pm
Location: Centurion, Gauteng


Return to Electrics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron