Home Built Exhaust?

Engines, Gearboxes, axles and anything in between

Moderator: BradW

Home Built Exhaust?

Postby Garreth on Mon Jul 22, 2013 5:42 pm

Hi guys,

So I have asked around concerning the purchasing of a made up exhaust for my locost. These prices range in the R3500.00 region and as a student I cant really do that right now :| .
I am currently toying with the idea of making my own exhaust system from pre mandrel bent sections of mild steel or stainless and TIG welding them together in the correct arrangement.

I have looked at the LocostUSA site and there are some neat looking systems. Hopefully this post will encourage others or if you have built your own, post it here.

I want to know the feasibility of doing this. Yes it involves time (what doesnt) and I can TIG weld pretty well these days (see my blog on tumblr).

1) Has anyone attempted this and to what success?
2) Does anyone have a DXF file or CAD drawing of the flange for the exhaust side of the 20V Silvertop I can send for laser cutting? (what thickness would you make this flange 5mm?)
3) What size tubing would be ideal for the 1.6l normally aspirated engine, research says 2 1/4 inch?
4) If I use mild steel what is the process to coat, paint, electroplate, passivate etc the will work?

The muffler I will make by inserting a perforated tube into a larger diameter tube and fill it with heat resistant packing. This wont reduce air velocity by very much but will silence in relation to the density of the packing.

Or am I misguided and rather save up and get one made? ( I think making your own exhaust and making sound great is an awesome challenge :D )

Any ideas, advice or past efforts successful or bad post them up lets see whats out there.

Cheers
Completed 1.6L 20V ST
Designing Ariel Atom Clone
http://www.garrethslotus.tumblr.com
Garreth

Re: Home Built Exhaust?

Postby ross on Sun Jul 28, 2013 11:11 am