M3 engine for locost kit car

Engines, Gearboxes, axles and anything in between

Moderator: BradW

M3 engine for locost kit car

Postby Reno on Sun Sep 20, 2009 7:26 pm

Hi Guys my name is Reno

I lived overseas for 8 years and a friend of mine had a Westfield Megabusa, "Hayabusa engine" and I fell in LOVE with it, but now have moved back to S.A, and wanted one over here, but when I worked out what it would cost me, its not viable " WAY TO EXPENSIVE" . The question I wanted to ask is, my cousin has crashed his E36 M3 " http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/E36_M3#E36_M3 " and I was thinking of buying it off him, to put its engine into one of the locost kit cars. will the Engine fit in this chasis?, can the chasis handle this power? Will it also be nose heavy? Or should I play it safe and put a toyota 4age silver top, with a T50 gearbox? I'm a newbie at this so try to bear with me :oops: I won't be racing this car it will be my sunday driving and mess around car :D .

Thanks

Reno
Reno

Re: M3 engine for locost kit car

Postby bikemonster on Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:37 am

Hi Reno

The answer is 20V 4AGE.

There is a huge knowledgebase out there, and you will find that every issue you come up against has been solved already. You will have enough to do following a well-trodden path.

While neither as light nor as revvy as a bike engine, nor as powerful as the Bemmer engine, the 20V is really more than enough. So much so, that Blossom, my 20V-powered car is really best enjoyed on the track. By the time a 4AGE is ready to change out of second, you are already doing a hundred and silly kilometres per hour.

There is at least one BMW 6-cylinder powered Seven here in Cape Town, but really, why would you? The nature of a Seven is best served by a small, light(ish), revvy motor. It really is not about horsepower, it’s about balance.