Absolute newbie build

As per the Ron Champion book

Moderator: BradW

Absolute newbie build

Postby Slainesa0 on Sat Aug 22, 2009 10:37 pm

Hi all

Just a quick note before i start, THIS SITE IS AWSOME!!

Well with that out the way lets begin.

I'm looking to build a book chassis and my donor car is in fact (don't laugh, I SAID DON'T) a morris 1000. I've had it standing for some time after i baught it to fix my austin a35 , but made other plans for the austin. Now i have lots of bits and peices for a first time build but as all of you who have built up your own kits know, there are many, many things to consider first.

I can weld although I'm going to go for a proper welding course soon, so the actual chassis isn't my problem. Space, matterials and parts i will source as i go ( i'll probably order the chassis components pre-cut though macsteel ) if i don't have them already.

My brother in-law is a mechanical engineer and he will be helping me as well and we have spent many a night pondering, debating and planning and we feel that we are ready to start with the build. P.S. between the two of us OCD and over planning is in abundance :) so we feal that prebuild prep is sorted.

Now after that long winded bit of backround here's the real question, we have NO idea how to mount the front suspension (using double wishbone) correctly, here's where we need "the people who know" to help us out, have the DIY guys had much trouble in this regard? is it realy that difficult or are we may be over thinking this? Some help here would be really, really appreciated.

Thanks guys.

P.S. we will be building a sportier locost later, but for now this will be our hands on "get the know how" first build for the road use and possibly for upgrading later. We also want to start a build diary for this kit.
Slainesa0

Re: Absolute newbie build

Postby Gregt on Fri Aug 28, 2009 7:53 am

Hi Slainesa0,